Tags

, , , , , ,

matcha 2I want to share my latest discovery that seems to be having a great effect on my energy levels: Matcha Tea. This tea is from Japan (boo that it’s probably radiated). It’s the traditional green tea used in Japanese tea ceremonies. There’s a whole story around how they grow the tea, shading it so the leaves don’t get damaged by the sun, and harvesting only the tips of the leaves.

I discovered it at our local Saturday Christmas Market. A vendor was making Matcha tea smoothies. I’ve been taking it for about 2 weeks now, and am finding the positive effect on my energy levels quite profound. At first I felt quite a cleansing affect from it, and I would suggest if you take it you up your water intake levels to help balance the cleansing effect of this out. It really makes you high, but in a grounded way. The energy boost is gradual, and it lasts all day and gradually tapers out.

I have found that ingesting other stimulants such as chocolate or coffee might make the high too much.  It was for me, keeping me awake at night.  I also found a couple days on and a day off can be helpful to keep the body in balance.  But that is me;  what I take into my body can have a big effect on me.  Others may be different.  It’s important to find your own level with something like this.

I use 1/2 tsp in a smoothie made of banana, almond milk, flax seed, nuts, and liquid stevia.  Yumm!

It’s a little expensive; I paid around $12 for 2 ounces, and that’s a good price, but a little bit goes a long way.  It also needs to be either kept in the fridge or frozen.    I got it at the local Asian market where prices are probably better than the health food stores.  Anyway, Happy New Year if this is helpful for you.

JME

 

