Tags

, , , , ,

DSCN1785 (3)Almost 4 years ago now I healed the hypoglycemic condition that I had for over 20 years. I started getting hypoglycemic when I was around 30 years old. For a long time I didn’t know what was going on in my body. I went to my doctor and told her I wasn’t feeling well, and she sent me to get a blood sugar test. This did not yield any tangible results, and she started to look at me like I was a hypochondriac. I was very angry at her for being unresponsive and I felt her to be judgmental of me. When I was around 35 years old it became very chronic. Within a one month period I gained over 20lbs. I got to the point where I could only sleep for 2 hours at a time before I woke up, my whole body going into a sort of flush, and I had constant diarrhea. I became sick with a flu that last for over 2 months. I did not know what to do to help my body and had no trust that the medical system could help me. One day I went to my chiropractor and he showed me a book called ‘Eating in the Zone’. This was the first time that I fully realized that what I was experiencing was blood sugar issues, and that I could put a name to my problems. I started on the diet recommended in this book, and within one month my blood sugar stabilized, and I was able to control my blood sugar through diet. I did not understand how blood sugar worked in the body and that eating proteins, complex carbohydrates, and a bit of fat maximized the regulation of blood sugar in my body. For the next ten years I was able to control my blood sugar issues fairly well. Around age 45 I began to have problems again. I was becoming menopausal and this seemed to upset the applecart of my body balance again. It didn’t seem to matter how I ate I was not able to control my blood sugar and I once again had to carry food with me wherever I went, including to bed, in order to maintain my blood sugar levels. My health spun out of control and it was a very frightening time for me. I had a very intense health scare about 3 years ago where my body went into an intense downward spiral that included severe dehydration, and at that time my blood sugar issues were completely chronic. I began seeing a Naturopath who suggested to me a book called ‘The South Beach Diet’. This book has been around for a number of years and has had very good results for people who have Hypoglycemia, Type 2 Diabetes and Heart Disease. It is a high protein / complex carbohydrate diet that allows the pancreas to have a complete rest. I was desperate at the time so followed the diet to a T for a period of 6 weeks, and I feel it completely cured my Hypoglycemia. Hypoglycemia as a disease is like the flip side of Diabetes. Like Diabetes, it ravages the body of essential nutrients and puts the body into a very depleted state. Over a period of years, it can kill you with the imbalance it creates in your body. I got this book from the library along with the companion cookbook. Thousands of people have received tremendous help from this diet, and I have wanted to write about my experience in case others can benefit from it. Here is a link to the book if you are interested in finding more about it: http://www.southbeachdiet.com/diet/about I also want to share why I felt I became hypoglycemic in the first place.  When I was 24 years old I got an infection from an IUD and was in the hospital for 4 weeks on intravenous antibiotics.  When I got out of the hospital I was on oral antibiotics for 6 months.  I ended up having surgery and having an ovary removed.  By the time I was 30 years old I was chronically fatigued.  I did not understand at the time much about health issues or how damaging being on antibiotics can be to imbalancing the body. As well, although a doctor may tell you having only one ovary is AOK cause you’ve got another, I don’t feel this is true.  I feel the loss of my ovary seriously imbalanced my endrocrine system.  I also did not understand how important blood sugar balance is, or that going without food for long periods of time (to be skinny) can be very detrimental.  Drugs and alcohol did not help either. What a long and wyndey road it has been to balancing my health and my body. JME

