Tags

, , , ,

270046_560289653996733_1517428296_nI’m very interested in learning about natural ways to heal my body. Many of these ways fall outside the lines of the medical system’s established norm of looking at health problems encountered in our body. We are taught that aging is ‘normal’ and that when something goes wrong with our body, well, that’s just the way it is and there’s nothing to do about it.

I reject on many levels this way of looking at the problems of the body. As a matter of fact, I go out of my way to reject most of what is stuffed down our throats as ‘the true reality’. Many established systems of belief around healing our body and so-called cures or bandages are in place, and those that are employed or invested in these realities don’t want things to change or progress, or if they do, they want beliefs to progress in a way that continues to benefit them, even if what they are pushing or selling is not the truth.

So I am a system basher at my core. In my desire to heal my eyes and discover what is really going on with my gradually declining eyesight, I came across the book ‘The Bates Method for Better Eyesight without Glasses’ by Dr. W. H. Bates. WOW! Did this book blow my mind! It threw out everything I believed and had been taught about my worsening eyesight. Another good book based on this method is ‘Improve your Eyesight’ by Jonathan Barnes.

I have been working with these books for a few years now, and although my eyesight hasn’t improved a great deal, it hasn’t gotten worse. I admit that I haven’t put a huge amount of effort into this, but I have put some and I’d like to share with you what I have learned.

Bates was an Ophthalmologist who practiced in NY between 1885 and 1922. He was a true seeker. He experimented and did research and discovered that the reason our eyesight worsens is because of eye strain and tension. He developed a method to teach people how to relax their eyes, and helped many patients fully recover their eyesight back to 20/20 vision, or better. This included many people with severe vision problems.

I have been playing with a few of his methods over the years and regularly do a couple of exercises that are very simple but that I find helpful.  I feel if I put more effort into his suggestions I would recover more of my eyesight, but I just haven’t dedicated myself to it to the level I feel I need to get better results.

I’m going to share here what those two exercises are and if you feel you want more information I suggest you look further into the subject and do your own research. The first exercise is called Palming. All you do is lightly cup your palms over your eyes. This shuts out the light and allows your eyes to relax. At first you will probably experience flashes of light or color, or a background that is rather light or mottled. I do this for up to 10 minutes at a time, or you can do it for longer if you wish. It is very relaxing. Even doing this for 3 to 5 minutes will allow your eyes to begin to relax.

What happens is that the flashing lights will gradually fade and darken. What you want to achieve is a background that continuously gets darker and darker. The darker the background of your eyes get, the more relaxed your eyes become. This isn’t something that needs to be forced. It is something that you allow to happen through relaxation.

What I notice when I uncover my eyes is that they are more relaxed and I can see better. I keep an eye chart on the wall (yes, I do, much to my husband’s chagrin). When I look at the eye chart and my eyes are strained, the letters are harder to read. But when I consciously relax my eyes, the letters become clearer. If I’m watching TV and I find myself straining my eyes, I do the palming exercise for a few minutes and my eyesight improves.

The other exercise I do occasionally (though not enough), is sunning my eyes. The sun on your eyes is supposedly a very healing experience if it is done in the right amount that your eyes can handle, and if you do the palming afterwards to help the eyes to relax and get dark again.

There are lots of details in the two books I mentioned above if you want to further pursue this. I take no responsibility for people who may go ahead with this method without doing the proper research. What I am doing here is sharing my experience so that if others are interested in investigating this further they can.

I also want to share a scene I saw in the movie ‘Ray’ which was about the life of Ray Charles. In this movie, Ray as a young boy watched his brother drown and didn’t know what was happening or what he needed to do to save him. After that experience Ray gradually lost his eyesight. The reason I am sharing this information is to also bring into awareness that people can lose their eyesight for many reasons, and some reasons can be emotionally based.

Would love to hear about other people’s experiences with their eyes if they want to share them. Thanks for reading.

JME

